Customer Service - (973) 857-3440

New Dancing Shoes
Suite for Woodwind Quintet

Composer: Mills, Amy Riebs

  • 32040050

Publication Type

Score & Part(s)


Add to Cart:


Instrumentation: Woodwind Quintet (Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Horn, Bassoon)
Duration: 6'
Composed: 2012
Published by: Amy Mills Music, LLC

3 movements
I. Seven Toes Down
II. En Pointe
III. Muddy Boots

This charming suite has three short movements, each with its own character. The suite bursts open with breathless energy. “Seven Toes Down” is modal, in 7/8 time, with people dancing in bare feet on bare ground, so vigorously that it kicks up the dust. “En Pointe” opens with a lovely waltz, then it focuses in on the tiny, delicate movements of a ballerina high up on her toes. “Muddy Boots” is big strong guys, covered with dirt from a hard day of work, practicing one-upmanship. Different players have the chance to show what they can do, surrounded by their friends. Then we catch another glimpse of the ballerina before closing playfully with Seven Toes Down.
Difficulty Level: 4 (Advanced)
See composer website for audio sample.
© 2022 Subito Music Corporation
Website Design by: Armsby Services
Powered by Zen Cart.