Customer Service - (973) 857-3440

Sonatinas Nos. 2 & 3
for Organ

Composer: Cooman, Carson

  • 80101421

Publication Type



Add to Cart:


"Sonatina No. 2" (2013) is dedicated to Robert Behrman. The opening toccata consists of bouncy and vibrant music surrounding a lyric chorale. The title of the second movement, Sharagan, refers to a style of monodic hymn in the Armenian Orthodox Church. The third movement is a gigue indebted to Buxtehude, though with a contemporary harmonic flavor.

"Sonatina No. 3" (2014) is dedicated to Johan-Magnus Sjöberg. The opening movement is an ostinato (quasi-passacaglia) with a heavily syncopated theme. The second movement, Dirge, is quiet and expressive, with a rising scalar figure in the bass that increases in speed. The final movement is a dancing toccatina with a bit of a scherzando character. (Both of these sonatinas can be played with manuals only. Optional pedal suggestions are provided in a few places.)

Instrumentation: Organ
Duration: 14’30”
Composed: 2013-14
Published by: Zimbel Press

Customers who bought this product also purchased...

© 2020 Subito Music Corporation
Website Design by: Armsby Services
Powered by Zen Cart.