Customer Service - (973) 857-3440

Shaker Suite: Three Shaker Spirituals
for SSAA, a cappella

Composer: Gilbert (arr.), Nina


Publication Type: Choral Octavo

Catalog Number: 80300162
Add to Cart:
Min:  8
1. Oh, the Beautiful Treasure; 2. We Will Walk with Mother and Mourn; 3. Hop Up and Jump Up. Explore the American heritage of Shaker hymnody with these three settings of lesser-known, very appealing Shaker spirituals. Each brief setting grows from its underlying melody to make an exceptionally unified arrangement. With a different technique as the focus for each arrangement, these minute-long pieces make fine vocalises for your choir. "Oh the beautiful treasure," with its square rhythms, horn calls, and harmonic texture opening out and closing, is excellent for teaching chord tuning. "We will walk with Mother and mourn," with its smooth, stepwise, rising and falling melody, is a fine exercise for legato singing. "Hop up and jump up," with its crisp rhythms and phrase fragments tossed from part to part, calls for rhythmic clarity and clean entrances and cutoffs. SSAA a cappella; 13 pages, plus editorial notes; duration: 3:15 min.; range: g to f"; difficulty: easy-medium; from the Nina Gilbert Choral Series. Instrumentation: SSAA, a cappella
Published by: Treble Clef Music

Minimum order quantity: 8 copies. To order quantities fewer than 8, please call customer service at (973) 857-3440.

© 2019 Subito Music Corporation
Website Design by: Armsby Services
Powered by Zen Cart.