San Andreas Suite
for Organ

Composer: Cooman, Carson

  • 80101406

Publication Type



Add to Cart:


"San Andreas Suite" (2017) consists of four movements: The first movement, Carillon (in festo S. Andreae apostoli), is a carillon with an ostinato repeated pattern and an ever-changing series of harmonies. The harmonic intensity builds in the coda to hint at the rich and complex sonorities of bells. Versets on a Melody from Périgord comprises four versets on an old melody, “Quel bru faï dïn lou chiel,” which comes from the Périgord (Dordogne) region of France. The title of the third movement, Pastorale mit einem Orgelpunkt, means “Pastorale with a pedal point,” and the organ’s lowest C sounds throughout. The low C is used as a harmonic generating source; the music above thus often explores sounds based on the harmonic series. The fourth movement, Toccata périgourdine, is an energetic toccata. Quoted in the slower middle section is an old melody also from Périgord.

Instrumentation: Organ
Duration: 19'
Composed: 2017
Published by: Zimbel Press
© 2024 Subito Music Corporation
Website Design by: Armsby Services
Powered by Zen Cart.