First Quartet
for String Quartet

Composer: Hutter, Gregory J.

  • 27040400

Publication Type

Score & Part(s)


Add to Cart:


The First Quartet is set in two segued movements. The first is a Passacaglia based on a 12-tone row in which the pitches are arranged to explore its tonal possibilities, which in this case led to a subtle emphasis of the key of e minor. The second movement, Elegia, is entirely tonal, in which the chromatic intensity of the Passacaglia finally yields to a pan-diatonic e minor. The main three-note motive of this movement is derived from the theme from the first movement.

Instrumentation: String Quartet
Duration: 14'
Composed: 1992
Published by: Hutter Music
© 2024 Subito Music Corporation
Website Design by: Armsby Services
Powered by Zen Cart.