Customer Service - (973) 857-3440

Concerto for Bass Trombone (Version with Orchestra)

Composer: Mills, Amy Riebs

  • 32040035

Publication Type

Full Score


Add to Cart:


Full size conductor's score (11x14)

Instrumentation: solo btbn; 2222; 4331; timp, perc; stgs
Duration: 15'
Composed: 2015
Published by: Amy Mills Music, LLC

Dedicated to the Men and Women of the US Armed Forces and their Families Catharsis was commissioned by Brian Hecht, bass trombonist with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. It explores his feelings about a friend who was killed while serving in the armed forces. It is powerfully moving and truly cathartic for performers and listeners who have experienced loss.

Catharsis is more than just a piece of music. For me, it’s a way to connect with my inner self and release deep, strong feelings through the expression of this music. I feel that this piece could be a similarly cathartic experience for any performer in all walks of life.” Brian Hecht, Bass Trombone, Atlanta Symphony

Movement I: “Playful” Happy memories of childhood fun, playing super-heroes, climbing and falling out of trees.
Movement II: “Tragic” The tragedy is announced, then the anger, frustration, denial, then gradual acceptance and coming to peace.
Movement III: “Renewal” The final movement recognizes heroism, and encourages all who have experienced tragic loss to Never Forget as they Go Forth info the future, changed, but with renewed conviction and hope.
Difficulty Level: Trombone 6 (Professional)
Orchestra 5 (Advanced)
See composer website for audio sample.

Performance materials available on rental only: Subito Music Rental Library via Zinfonia
© 2022 Subito Music Corporation
Website Design by: Armsby Services
Powered by Zen Cart.