Customer Service - (973) 857-3440

York Concertato
for 2 Organs

Composer: Cooman, Carson

  • 80101482

Publication Type

Performance Score(s)


Add to Cart:


Set incluides 2 scores

"York Concertato" (2014) is a work for two organs and was written for Murray and Hazel Somerville (residents of York, South Carolina). The work is a chamber sonata for two organs in three movements (Exordium, Cantilena, and Fantasia), and is very intentionally conceived as chamber music, as opposed to many duo organ works requiring large instruments. This work may be played on almost any two organs. However, it is generally assumed that Organ I is a single manual instrument with no pedals (continuo/box organ) whereas Organ II is a slightly larger instrument with at least a pedal board. However, Organ II need not necessarily have more than one manual, nor need it have any 16’ voices in the pedal. Performances on two larger organs is very possible, but the goal should always be an expressive, chamber music atmosphere with balanced discourse between the two instruments. This is really a work conceived for chamber organs, rather than for large symphonic instruments. Thus the players should also ideally be near each other.

Instrumentation: 2 Organs
Duration: 12'
Composed: 2014
Published by: Zimbel Press
© 2021 Subito Music Corporation
Website Design by: Armsby Services
Powered by Zen Cart.