Listen to the Angels Shouting
for SSAA, piano

Composer: Noble Jr. (arr.), Clifton J.

  • 80300165

Publication Type

Choral Octavo


Min:  8
Add to Cart:


This arrangement is a medley of three spirituals: "Come down, angels," "Listen to the angels," and "My way's cloudy," all from The Story of the Fisk Jubilee Singers, one of the earliest printed collections of slave spirituals. In all three, angels are the heavenly messengers who inspire and lead the singers out of bondage into the promised land. In this arrangement, the angels are not dimpled cherubs, but rather towering figures who energize the singers in their difficult and dangerous journey. Swing rhythm sections alternate with softer sections in straight rhythm, in this fine concert closer with barn-burning piano accompaniment. The spirituals' Exodus imagery makes this medley suitable for Passover programming, as well as for concerts which honor slave spirituals. SSAA and piano; 14 pages; duration: 5:00 min.; range: e to g#''; difficulty: medium. Instrumentation: SSAA, piano
Published by: Treble Clef Music

Minimum order quantity: 8 copies. To order quantities fewer than 8, please call customer service at (973) 857-3440.
© 2024 Subito Music Corporation
Website Design by: Armsby Services
Powered by Zen Cart.